Bloom- AECP 2- Masking Unleashed

Today I’m sharing a card filled with masking layers, creating a flower bouquet. I’ve never been a fan of masking, simply because of the effort that it takes to create masks. However, after taking the Masking Unleashed Class, a part of Altenew’s Educators Certification Program, I’ve fallen in love with the technique. I learnt the ability to create depth and illusion in a single flat layer with masking. The tips and tricks shared in the class have been insightful and I’m glad I’m hooked onto this technique now.

Here’s a look at my card:

I have used the smaller flower cluster from the Billowing Peonies Set for this card. The blooming flowers inspired me to use the word- bloom for my sentiment and masking it. I’ve used the calligraphy alpha word die to mask the word.

I began by stamping and colouring the cluster with coordinating stencils and inks. I kept this cluster more blue with a tinge of violet. I then masked the entire cluster and stamped another layer behind. I kept these flowers a lighter tint of blue with more violet, differentiating them from the main cluster. This created depth, illusion and variety in my bouquet. I completed it with another sentiment from the set and some sequins.

Products Used:

Altenew- Billowing Peonies Bundle- Stamp, Stencils and Die

Altenew- Calligraphy Alpha Die

One thought on “Bloom- AECP 2- Masking Unleashed

Leave a comment